Nelson City is bordered to the west and south-west by Tasman District Council and to the north-east, east and south-east by Marlborough District Council. The city does not include Richmond, the area’s second-largest settlement. Nelson City has a population of around 50,000, making it New Zealand’s 12th most populous city. When combined with the town of Richmond, which has roughly 15,000 residents, the whole conurbation is ranked as New Zealand’s 9th largest urban area by population.

  • CURRENCY NZ dollar
  • LANGUAGE Chamorro, English